What We Have Learned From Oklahoma’s Medical Marijuana Program
In June of 2018, Oklahoma joined the rest of the country by establishing its own medical marijuana laws. Oklahoma is one of the most conservative states in the Union which makes this even more significant. Since it passed, there have been a couple of revisions and reviews of the law.
Is Medical Marijuana Legal?
Medical marijuana is legal for adults 18 years and older. It is only legal if they obtain authorization from a doctor who is legally allowed to prescribe marijuana as a medicine. It is legal for minor as well who have permission from their parents or guardians and have two authoring physicians.
What conditions can marijuana be prescribed for?
Marijuana can be prescribed for any condition that a doctor thinks can be treated best by the use of marijuana. This is a surprising allowance because most states restrict marijuana use to a handful of allowable conditions and Oklahoma, while being extremely conservative, allows for it to be prescribed for all conditions with a doctor’s approval.
Is Recreational Marijuana legal?
Recreational marijuana is not legal in the state of Oklahoma. While they do have some of the most relaxed policies surrounding medical marijuana, they do not allow the consumption of it for non-medical purposes. This means that the laws for being caught in possession of marijuana without an active medical marijuana card are still strict.
How much is allowed?
Patients with a medical marijuana card are currently allowed to carry 3 ounces or less of marijuana and you are allowed to grow at maximum 6 plants and 6 seedlings. You are also allowed to have up to 72 ounces of edibles or other cannabis products on your person. This is only for people with a medical marijuana card. If you exceed the limits you could be charged with intent to distribute and will be prosecuted.
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card
To get a medical marijuana card, you will first need to fill out an application through Oklahoma’s medical marijuana platform; Take a look at the website here.
The entire application will need to be completed with your electronic signature within 30 days of its start date. This means you will need to visit a prescribing physician and get their signed recommendation form submitted. This form too needs to be submitted within 30 days of the applications initial filing date. This also means finding a doctor that is willing and able to prescribed marijuana. Not all doctors are will willing or able to prescribe marijuana to treat certain or any conditions.
The physician you find will need to fill out the Physician Recommendation form which will need to be scanned and sent along with your application. This fee must be paid with a Visa, MasterCard, or Discover card or your debit card. A prepaid visa is also allowable if you have no other way of paying.
You will also need to provide proof of residency in Oklahoma, proof of your identity and digital photography of your face. Your proof of residency and identity just requires your driver’s license or ID card scanned back and front. Once your application is complete you will just need to pay the $100 non-refundable application fee. It can be cheaper ($20) if you are enrolled in Medicare or Medicaid.
Your application approval letter will come in the mail within 14 days of your application’s submission if your application is submitted correctly. You will receive your medical marijuana card at the same time and the approval letter. If your application is missing required documents you will receive an email reporting the omission. If your application is denied; you will also receive a letter within 14 days of submission.
Penalties for Breaking the Law
If you do not have a medical marijuana card and are caught holding or transporting the substance you will still be persecuted under the state law for Uniform Controlled Dangerous Substances Act. This means if this is your first offense; you will be penalized with a fine of $1000 or 1 year of jail time. If this is not your first offense you get to pay the $1000 fine and serve the 1 year of jail time.
If you are caught selling or trafficking less than 25 pounds you will get a $20,000 fine and 2 years to a life sentence in jail. If the amount is over 25 pounds; it is $100,000 fine and 4 years to a life sentence in jail. If it is over 1000 pounds it $500,000 fine and 4 years to life in jail.
If you do not have a medical marijuana card, it is easy to get with the new legislation. If you need more information about how to get a medical marijuana card, talk with your doctor or try to communicate with any local dispensaries, they should be able to give you the information you need.